Author Topic: How to rotate RAW images  (Read 3842 times)

heyjp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
How to rotate RAW images
« on: May 21, 2018, 01:02:15 AM »
Hi,

I’m a newbie, just bought Observatory and imported my first blast of RAW images.  Is it possible to rotate a few images?  The way my scope and camera were aimed, my DSLR occasionally rotated a few images vertical while the majority are horizontal.

Jim in Boulder

Sander Berents

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 137
    • Code Obsession
Re: How to rotate RAW images
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2018, 01:46:12 AM »
Sure you can.

Select the images and choose any of the commands under Layer ▸ Rotate. Since this command only rotates the layer, not the whole image, you then have to choose Image ▸ Resize Canvas and check its "Adjust canvas to fit layers" option.
Sander Berents
Code Obsession, LLC
http://codeobsession.com

heyjp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to rotate RAW images
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2018, 10:03:57 AM »
Okay.  I selected a group of vertical images.  Selected LAYER>ROTATE>ROTATE LEFT.  There was no apparent change to the view.  I then selected IMAGE>RESIZE CANVAS and checked "Adjust canvas to fit layers" and I ended up with properly rotated images but now square with the max dimension on both.  (originally 4160x6240, now 6240x6240). I was expecting a 6240x4160 switch in dimensions.

Jim

Sander Berents

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 137
    • Code Obsession
Re: How to rotate RAW images
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2018, 09:44:57 PM »
For me the view (and browser) gets updated immediately when you rotate a layer. What macOS version are you on?

As for the Resize Canvas command, when you check "Adjust canvas to fit layers” for a selection of images that have different dimensions, it will adjust them so they will all have the same dimensions afterwards. Maybe you had one in your selection that did not need to be rotated? It will display “Multiple Values” in the sheet to warn you about that. In that case, you would indeed end up with the result you were seeing.
Sander Berents
Code Obsession, LLC
http://codeobsession.com